## Short Biography:

Michael Tsapatsis joined the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota in September 2003 as a professor and he currently holds the Amundson Chair. He received an Engineering Diploma (1988) from The University of Patras, Greece, and MS (1991) and Ph.D. (1994) degrees from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) working with G.R. Gavalas. He was a post-doctoral fellow with M.E. Davis at Caltech (1993/94). Before joining the University of Minnesota he was a faculty member in the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of Massachusetts Amherst (1994-2003).

For his work on zeolite thin films, catalysts and adsorbents, he is the recipient of the Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research from AlChE, the Breck Award from the International Zeolite Association (with <u>Prof. Dr. Jürgen Caro</u>), the Charles M.A. Stine Award from the Materials Engineering & Sciences Division of AlChE, a David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award and of a North American Membrane Society Fellowship. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

From 2008 to 2013 he served as an Editor for *Microporous and Mesoporous Materials*. In 2013, he was elected as a council member of the International Zeolite Association.

He has supervised/co-supervised to completion the PhD thesis of 30 graduate students and advised 20 former postdoctoral fellows.